Cast Iron Skillet Brownies

Standard

I eat pretty well. I am a vegetarian. I often eat raw or vegan.  So, as any woman would tell you, that means it’s okay to cheat every  now and again ^_^
I was craving something chocolaty and sweet last night, so I made skillet brownies. (yes, another Pinterest find.)

Also of note, I LOVE cooking in a cast iron skillet (I don’t let husband cook bacon it in, tho. No soap on cast iron, so no bacon!), but I had never though of baking a dessert in one! BRILLIANT!

Cast Iron Skillet Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup Dutch-process cocoa powder  (I just used Hershey’s cocoa powder)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream (I don’t use milk, and I was out of soy, so I didn’t use any)
  • 8 ounces chocolate chips or coarsely chopped chocolate

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, whisk together sugar and eggs. In another bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, and salt.
  2. In a medium cast iron skillet, bring butter and cream to a simmer over medium heat (As I said, I didn’t have any milk, so I used double the amount of  butter and it worked well. More calories, but it worked!). Add chocolate; reduce to medium-low. Cook, stirring constantly, until chocolate has melted, about 1 minute. Remove from heat, and let cool 5 minutes.
  3. Add chocolate mixture to sugar mixture, whisking until blended (reserve skillet). Fold in flour mixture. Pour batter into skillet.
  4. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 40 minutes. (for a gooeyer brownie bake for about 35 minutes) Serve from skillet, warm or at room temperature.
This turned out wonderfully! Milk would have made it better, but it was still fantastic! I will never (nor should I) eat the whole thing  by myself, so I guess that means I need to have a bunch of friends over to “help me out”This would be amazing with some vanilla ice cream, or fruit. Having neither (yes yes, I need to go to the commissary. I know!) I poured a bit of Baileys Irish Cream over the

top, and it was scrumptious! So no matter what you do with it, it will be fantastic. Enjoy! Nom nom.
Leave a Reply

