Banana Walnut Oatmeal

Standard

Growing up, my dad made oatmeal many winter mornings. It’s a very fond memory. He also taught me about the slow release of the sugars and proteins, versus the all-at-once sugar rush you get from a candy bar, for instance. SUGAR! Then you’re on your face. Oatmeal is sort of a time-release type deal. Keeps you going without that crash at the end.

So, now I am married and 1,000 miles away from my parents kitchen. I go to the gym MWF mornings, and especially right now during these colder months, I need a hearty and warm way to start off my day. Naturally I turned to the oatmeal I remember so fondly. Here is one version I hope you enjoy. This is for one serving.

 

Banana Walnut Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • a handful of walnuts
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seed
  • < 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • a dollop of butter (I use smart balance)

 

Directions:

  1. Put the cold water and oats in a pot. Let sit for 5-10 minutes. This allows the enzymes to break down in the oats, making for a creamier result.
  2. Bring water and oats to a boil. Add all other ingredients except butter, and cook on medium heat for 5 minutes, or until creamy
  3. Add butter, stir, and then enjoy!
One response »

Leave a Reply

