Lynchburg Candied Apples

Standard

This is an incredible recipe that I got from a book called “Cooking With Jack” which I believe my wonderful husband got for me (due to my love of Jack Daniel;s Whiskey!). Anyhow, I will be making this for all holidays, and random days in between holidays from now on!!

 

Lynchburg Candied Apples
makes 6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbs butter (or smart balance)
  • 6 cups peeled and sliced apples (they suggest green apples, I used red. Was still wonderful.)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup sugar (I used less than 1/4)
  • 1/2 cup Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Whiskey

Directions:

Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook apples in the butter until tender, about  5 minutes. Stir in sugar and Jack Daniel’s. Continue to cook until the juice has thickened, about 5 minutes. Serve warm.

note: after continuing to cook for 15 minutes, the juices never did really thicken up. So, I served it like that! No worries, it was still mind blowing

One response »

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving 2011 « Let's cook!

Leave a Reply

