Three Cheese Crustless Quiche

Standard

This was my main dish. It also came from the book

Asheville Cooks

and the recipe is from
Hathaway’s Cafe and Market
Asheville NC

I served this to my family and friend that beautiful Wednesday evening. My friend, my dad and my grandmother are all mind-blowing cooks, so making food for them is exciting and a fun challenge. They LOVED this quiche! So, that’s a big compliment to this dish. This is one I will definitely be making again. And with the Zucchini, it’s a wonderful summer dish. By the way, this is wonderful served cold as well!

*

*

Three Cheese Crustless Quiche

I made two. If you’re going to make one quiche, may as well make two, considering it saves so well! So, this recipe is for 2 quiches

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups chopped zucchini (I used 4 zucchini)
  • 4 cups sliced mushrooms
  • 1 cup chopped onion (I used a red onion)
  • 4 finely minced garlic cloves
  • 4 Tbs olive oil
  • 12 eggs
  • 1 cup light cream
  • 1 lb cream cheese (I used 1/3 fat cream cheese, and it worked just fine!)
  • 1 lb mild Cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1 lb Swiss cheese, grated
  • 4 cups cubed French bread, toasted
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

Sauté the zucchini, mushrooms, onion and garlic in oil until al dente (just cooked, not crisp). Set aside.

Preheat oven to 350*. In a bowl, beat the eggs with the cream. Add the sautéed vegetables, cheeses and bread, and mix. Season with salt and pepper

Pour into  two well-greased 9″ or 10″springform pans, tart pans, or 12 individual ramekins. Bake for 35 minutes, or until browned. (one of mine was done in 35 minutes, the other needed about 10 additional minutes because I filled the pan more than the other one). Insert a knife into the center of the quiche; if the knife comes out clean, the quiche is done. Cool for a few minutes before releasing from the springform pan.

Leave a Reply

