Farrah’s H1N1 Chicken Noodle Soup

Standard

My husband and I just spent the past week and a half battling the “swine” flu, and we won! But it was rough! Sadly, now one of our best friends up here has it. So now that I feel well enough to actually cook, I’m making him some get-well-soon chicken noodle soup. I took a lot of recipes and common sense and smooshed them together to get this healthy, heart-warming soup. Get well, Josh!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can Swanson chicken broth
  • 2 cup water
  • 2 chicken bouillon cubes (note, if you have a second can of chicken broth, use that, 1 cup of water and no bouillon cubes)
  • 1 chicken breast (about 1/2 a pound), cut up
  • 1 stalk of celery, sliced
  • 1 large carrot, sliced
  • 1/4 an onion (if I were making this for me, I would use more onion)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • apx 1/2 cup spaghetti (egg noodles work  just as well if not better. I just didn’t have any)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • In a skillet, put some oil, and then your cubed chicken. You can season it if you like. I used some onion powder and garlic powder. 3 slices of fresh ginger in here would add an awesome kick to your chicken. But be sure not to add the slices to your soup. It would be too strong I think. Anyhow, cook it until the chicken is white all the way through.
  • In a pot, combine the broth, water, cubes, chicken, celery, carrot, onion, garlic, salt and pepper. Turn on the heat and bring it all to a boil.
  • Stir in the noodles. Cook over medium heat for about 10 minutes, or until the noodles are done.

Ta da! Now, make some hot tea, wrap up in a blanket, drink lots of water and feel better!

  • 2 (10.75 ounce) cans Campbell’s® Condensed Chicken Broth
Leave a Reply

