Beer and Ketchup Meatballs

Standard

I am a vegetarian, but my wonderful husband is not. So, I try to make meals/foods for him involving meat. So, this is one of recipes I cooked for him.

Note: husband suggests that it’s important not to use a cheap beer such as Budweiser. I used Samuel Adams Boston Lager, and it turned out perfectly.

Meatballs

Makes 8 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 (28 ounce) bottle ketchup
  • 24 fluid ounces beer
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 onion, chopped

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  2. Place the beer and ketchup in a slow cooker on high setting and allow to simmer..
  3. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine the ground beef, garlic powder and onion, mixing well. Form mixture into meatballs about 3/4 inch in diameter. Place meatballs in a 9×13 inch baking dish.
  4. Bake at 400 degrees F (200 degrees C) for 20 minutes.
  5. Transfer meatballs to the slow cooker with the beer and ketchup and simmer for 3 hours; sauce will thicken.

My husband is on duty, so he hasn’t gotten to try them yet, but I’ll post his thoughts on them later.

IMG_6925

Update!
Husband declares these meatballs are “delicous!” and “amazing!” I’d say they were a success

One response »

  1. I was doing okay, just cruising along, READING your meatball recipe until, until…. THAT PICTURE!!!!….
    and now I have become one of Pavlov’s slobbering dogs, I eat so little red meat anymore, that photo woke the ancient, hibernating carnivore in me, and I drooled, had to scroll on down, or else wipe off the monitor screen. Mean old Pavlov.

    I am so proud of you, my budding young chef! Cooking—such a wonderful artistic hobby, and the best part, eatable art. I hope you enjoy and use lesleycooks. And your chicken recipe looks delicious, as well. I didn’t realize you’d made that for your fellowship group. Sounds like it was enjoyed.
    God bless your day, beautiful one,
    with the Shalom of Yeshua’s presence
    in all you do.

    Your Dad

Leave a Reply

